As I've said before, I get real antsy when working on just one project, so I usually have 1 or 2 (ok, maybe 3 or 4) in the works.

I went to JoAnn's last weekend with my Mom and I bought a bunch of my favorite yarn.  I usually stick to 2 main brands of yarn:

Picture
Vanna's Choice is made by Lion Brand and is a 4 Medium, mostly made of Acrylic and a little bit of Rayon.  Not as soft as some, but I like it!

Picture
I love Caron's Simply Soft as well.  It's also a 4 Medium, but is made of 100% Acrylic.  There is a noticeable difference, in my opinion, in the softness.  My projects made of this yarn are usually softer and more pliable.

While perusing aisle after aisle of glorious colors and textures of yarn (oh happy days....sigh) I stumbled across Red Heart's Plush Baby.  I LOVED the softness and the 2 colors that I found!  And there was a baby blanket pattern on the back of the yarn paper!  It was meant to be!
Ooooooh, Ahhhhh said the crowd....
The pink is "Strawberry" and the Green is "Kiwi".
I just fell in love with this yarn.  I envisioned Baby Girl all cuddled up holding her special blankie made by Mama when she was tired....And then I started the pattern.  Another sigh....

The pattern is easy, don't get me wrong.  It's the nature of the stitch that I'm not happy about.  When you add a second color, the previous color shows at the bottom of the stitches and it looks sloppy :-(  Soooo, I decided to just use the Strawberry color instead of using both.  I'm sure to find a use for the Kiwi!

Here is my WIP (Work in Progress) so far:

Look how fuzzy and soft!  I've only completed about 30 rows or so, but there's only 77 rows plus the edging so I feel like I've got a good start on it.

I will definitely post piccies once it's finished.  And of course I will post a piccie of Baby Girl using it too!


Here is the pattern from Red Heart if anyone is interested:

Blanket measures approximately 37" x 37"
Red Heart Plush Baby: 5 balls 9870 Blueberry (Color A)
Red Heart Plush Baby: 3 balls 9100 Coconut (Color B)
Crochet Hook: 5.5mm (US I-9)
Yarn Needle
Gauge: 14 dc=4"; 7 rows=4"
Use any hook size to obtain your gauge


BLANKET:
With A, ch 138

Row 1: sc in 2nd ch from hook, (ch 3, 2dc) all in same ch as sc worked into, *skip 3 ch, (sc, ch 3, 2dc - GROUP) all in next ch; rep from * across to last 4 ch: skip 3 ch, sc in last ch; turn

Rows 2-7: Ch 3, 2dc in first sc, * GROUP worked over next ch-3; rep from * to last st; sc in top of ch-3; turn


Rows 8-14: Rep Row 2 with colors B one time, (1 row A, 1 row B) 3 times.  Fasten off B.

Rows 15-21: Rep Row 2 with A. Rep Rows 8-21 four more times.

Last Row: Ch 3, work 2dc in same sc, * (sc, ch1, hdc, dc) over ch-3; rep from * across to last st; sc in top of ch-3.  Do not fasten off


BORDER:

With A of last Row, begin Border

Rnd 1: Working across side,ch1, (sc, ch 2, sc) all in corner, FIRST SIDE: * ch 1, skip sp equal to ch1, sc; rep from * across to next corner; ch1, (sc, ch2, sc - CORNER), working along bottom work as follows; * ch1, sc in ch sp of beg ch, ch1, sc in next sc of Row 1; rep from * across to next corner making last sc in corner st; Work (ch2, sc) in same sc, work SECOND SIDE same as first side to next corner to top; work CORNER, * ch1, skip 1 st or ch, sc in next st or ch, ch1; rep from * across; join with a sl st in first sc


Rnd 2: Work reverse sc evenly around entire blanket edge adding sts in corners to lay flat; join with a sl st in first st.  Fasten off.  Weave in ends.

I'd LOVE to see some of your finished works!  Please feel free to post them!

Until next time....

Juls xoxo




Leave a Reply.